February 2012 in Review

What happened:

February 14th surprises from the corner store (Kenji + roses + chocolates)!

– Spent a lot of time with Kenji, just hanging out, being silly, keeping each other company while we did our own things. And it has been so nice. No-stress hangouts with my favourite guy are the best.
– Took Kenji out for a fancy meal to send him off to Montreal for surgery. What I remember the best from the date was Kenji making fun of the dish I ordered, which he called cat food (I had a housemade fettucine with chicken livers, sage, and pecorino). He clearly forgot how much I hate being made fun of about my food!!! Despite all that, I had a wonderful time.
– Started going to the gym at my local community centre for $46/three months. Guys, it’s the best thing! That’s $15 a month! I like it there because it’s unpretentious and mostly nice people from the neighbourhood (I got in the mornings when there seems to be more middle-aged exercisers). Oh, and the Aquafit ladies are sure to brighten your day with their chitter-chatter and laughs!
– Had my chart updated by my astrologer/astrology teacher Julia Wawrzyniak-Beyer! I’m looking forward to some sweet Neptune transits in the next couple of years, hopefully doing some good in the career side of things.
– Oops. I’m going to cheat with this one: I started a Twitter account (okay, I started it at the end of January)! I mostly try to keep my tweets to Toronto-specific food, critical fashion and style, and a bit of personal updates.
– Little sister visited! I love sister visits! We laugh about things that we don’t with anyone else (in Canada). Seriously, it’s humour that 1) has to be in Mandarin and 2) has been developed over the span of our lifetimes. It’s very special, let me tell ya. I remember grocery shopping with Ruth once in Peterborough at what was once Price Chopper, and we spotted someone in the store who we didn’t want to bump into and make small talk with…so we just hid in the pasta aisle, trying to hide behind the other person (which doesn’t make any sense) and making ourselves really, really rigid and small. We died laughing. That’s the incident I always think of when I think of laughing with Ruth. We discovered some Korean restaurants that beats any other places I’ve been to in the Koreatown area: go to Seoul Restaurant for 2-person pork bone stew and Paldo Gang San for their cheap do-it-yourself BBQ. Full and satisfied!

Little sister getting smothered by Calamity Jane

Some things I learned this month:

Robarts Library ain't that bad on an early weekday morning.

– I’m almost done with this whole non-degree-student thing at U of T, picking up the credits I need for my BEd. And that realization has made me less of a Scrooge. Last month was not so easy because it was the beginning of a new semester that I didn’t even want to start in the first place. Now that it’s February, I feel like I’m close to the end, so am feeling much lighter and less down about it all.
– I wrote a paper for my Urban Historical Geography course about how the development of the railroad facilitated the growth of Chicago from the late 19th century to the early 20th century. Ask me if you want to know! Ha!
–  After Kenji’s surgery, I really got into learning about general anaesthesia (emphasis on the after surgery!).  My mind was blown. I knew so little about it and never really understood why it was such a scary thing (and why anesthesiologists were paid so much money). And damn, when I did read more and watched videos, I was floored. WHEN YOU ARE UNDER, YOU ARE BASICALLY THE LIVING DEAD. YOU ARE A ZOMBIE. YOU ARE IN A STATE THAT I CANNOT EVEN COMPREHEND. WHERE DO YOU GO WHEN YOU ARE PUT UNDER??? Mind. Blown. I couldn’t stop thinking about this for days.

A list of things I’m thankful for this month:

Kenji’s smooth surgery, the doctor, the nurses, his mom, Kenji himself, my favourite regulars at work who make having to deal with shitty customers a bit better, torrents, second-hand stores.

The keywords for February are patience, gratefulness, and shopping (lots of shopping…).

What I’m looking forward to in March:

– For Kenji to come back to Toronto! I miss that guy.
– CHICAGO! Sarah Creagen and I will be tabling at the Chicago Zine Fest! This will be my first time tabling at a zine fair, which is super exciting. Also, Chicago happens to theeeee American city I want to visit. There is so much history, art, architecture (did you know that the first skyscraper in the US was built in Chicago??), and urban geographical history to absorb in that city! And looks like the city is good for thrifting, too.
– Continuing to monitor  my digestion problems. I have started to drink a cup of warm water with the juice of half a lemon every morning on an empty stomach, which was what my nutritionist told me to do. And it’s a miracle. Just have to be diligent about this.
– Watching more movies from the canon (mostly the Western canon). I still haven’t seen the biggies like The Godfather and Jaws. Craig taught me how to use torrents and it has changed my life. Watching movies and TV shows are no longer a burden! No more tracking things down on Side Reel! Last night, I finished watching 12 Angry Men (1957). I have Blade Runner lined up next.

Happy leap day! As the brilliant and beautiful disability justice warrior Mia Mingus said, take a leap! Take a risk! Do something brave! Tell someone you love them!

2 Comments

Filed under Month in Review

2 responses to “February 2012 in Review

  1. Aw, I’m sorry I made fun of your food. It’s just that it was…so…aromatic.It was…reminiscent…of my love…of cats. Much love. Much much love. Of cats. It just smelled so much of love. <3

Leave a Reply

